Destiny 2 Season of the Wish Release Date and Start Time

| Tags: | Author
Destiny 2 Season of the Wish Release Date and Start Time

Destiny 2 Season of the Wish is the final update before the Final Shape, which is slated to be the finale to Destiny's Light and Dark Saga.


Destiny 2 Season of the Wish takes fans back to the Dreaming City, for the 15 wish (a joke started by the community almost 5 years ago in the Forsaken expansion). The expansion made players deal with a total of 14 wishes, There was a 15th wish uncovered later by dataminers during the later stages of the game, but it never made it to the official release. The update is also set to ship a new Year-6 dungeon.

This is the final Destiny 2 season before Bungie shifts the game into an ‘episodic’ model. The game will no longer have ‘seasons’, but episodes instead. The Final Shape expansion is slated to come out next year. The new Season also introduces a brand new artifact called the Queensfoil Censor.

The lore of Season of the Wish surrounds on the wish-granting dragons named the Ahamkara. The Ahamkara are a bunch of wish-fulfilling creatures, but each wish comes at a cost. The cosmic Ahamkara would grant each wish to people who called upon them. Deemed too dangerous to exist, the Guardians and also the Vanguard attempt to terminate them from the cosmos. All of this takes place in an event called the Great Hunt.

However, one Ahamkara survived the Great Hunt. The wish-granting dragon was named Riven, and the Awoken queen, Mara Sov, had held her captive. Mara Sov used a device called the Wall of Wishes to make wishes to the wish-granting cosmic creature, which decreased Riven's ability to turn the wishes against her.

MORE FROM ESTNN
All Missions in Destiny 2 The Final Shape: Full List

The latest season will dive deep into the lore behind the current state of the the Dreaming City – which is currently stuck in a three-week time loop.

Since the inclusion of ‘The Last Wish' raid in a Forsaken expansion 5 years ago, players have been experimenting with the 14 wishes featured in the raid that would grant them loot and in-game content. The 15th wish was never revealed, and Destiny 2 Season of the Wish looks to finally lift the veil on that mystery.

One of the major features arriving in Season 23 is the Fireteam Finder. This will allow to find and organize groups for raids. With the Fireteam Finder, Bungie aims to reduce player reliance on external third-party tools such as Discord, enabling fans to organize a Fireteam within the game itself.

The upcoming Season also pushes major nerfs to Stasis and survivability. Player's would no longer be able to use the Solar Titan's Throwing Hammer endlessly, as the new update includes a nerf for the same. The community titled “Bonk Hammer” will no longer return melee energy to players instantaneously, but after a 1.4 second duration.

Destiny 2 Season of the Wish Release Date and Start Time

The massive content update for Destiny 2, Season of the Wish launches on Tuesday, November 28, at 9 a.m. PST As always, the servers will be down for a maintenance for a couple of hours before the full season goes live.

MORE FROM ESTNN
All Missions in Destiny 2 The Final Shape: Full List

For your specific time zone, we’ve detailed the release times here:

  • North America (West Coast)
    9 a.m PST
  • North America (East Coast)
    12 p.m. EST
  • Western Europe (Paris)
    6 p.m. CET
  • United Kingdom
    5 p.m. GMT
  • Japan
    2 a.m. JST

For more gaming news and updates, follow us here on ESTNN.

Avatar of Sid
Sid
With a Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism and Mass Communication, Sid has been writing about Esports since 2016. In times of crisis, Sid finds solace in movies and making art. Also, chocolate!