WoW news

Read the latest World of Warcraft news right here.

The top dog of the MMO space for nearly two decades. World of Warcraft has been the jewel in the developer Blizzard Entertainments’ crown since its first release in 2004.

World of Warcraft is the fourth entry in the Real-Time strategy game series Warcraft, which hasn’t had an entry in the strategy game series since WoW was released. WoW took a lot of inspiration from Everquest, with some of the game’s key developers even being from high-end raiding guilds on Everquest 2.

WoW quickly rose to the top of the MMO pile, becoming the most subscribed MMO in the West. Not until around 2021, with the rise of FF15, did another MMO really ever get close. WoW is now on its 9th expansion, while the “Classic” version of the game has seen the game go back to its original game and first two expansions.

How can you play World of Warcraft?

WoW can be played on both PC and MAC. The game is launched and played via Blizzard’s proprietary launcher,, and requires an active subscription to play the game.

World of Warcraft Windows System Requirements

Minimum requirements
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Video Card: Nvidia GTX 900or AMD 4th Gen and above
CPU: 4 Core, 3.0 GHz and above

Recommended Specifications

OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Video Card: Nvidia RTX and AMD RDNA 2
CPU: 6 core, 3.5 GHz

MAC Minimum requirements

OS: macOS 10.15
Video Card: Apple M1
CPU: 4 core, 2.9 GHz

MAC Recommended Specifications

OS: macOS 12
Video Card: M1 Max
CPU: 8 cores, 3.6 GHz

World of Warcraft Gameplay

World of Warcraft is a combat-focused MMO. The combat is action-based, with cooldowns between abilities and auto attacks. The game features a number of unique styles of gameplay, like melee combat, tanking, ranged combat, and healing.

While playing, you’ll level up, earn new talents and skills, and complete quests through the world. The story is told per expansion, with each story mostly isolated, though to really feel “a part” of the story, you’ll need to play whatever the latest expansion is. As new patches come out, the story moves forward, and new content is added to the game.

World of Warcraft Classes

  • Warrior – Tank, DPS
  • Paladin – Tank, Healer, DPS
  • Hunter – DPS
  • Rogue – DPS
  • Priest – Healer, DPS
  • Shaman – DPS, Healer
  • Mage – DPS
  • Warlock – DPS
  • Monk – DPS, Healer, Tank
  • Druid – DPS, Healer, Tank
  • Demon Hunter – DPS, Tank
  • Death Knight – DPS, Tank
  • Evoker – DPS, Healer

World of Warcraft Races

Alliance Races:

  • Draenei
  • Dwarf
  • Gnome
  • Human
  • Night elf
  • Worgen
  • Void elf
  • Lightforged Draenei
  • Dark Iron Dwarf
  • Kul Tiran
  • MechagnomeHorde Races:
  • Blood elf
  • Goblin
  • Orc
  • Tauren
  • Troll
  • Undead
  • Nightborne
  • Highmountain Tauren
  • Mag’har orc
  • Zandalari troll
  • Vulpera

Neutral Race:


World of Warcraft esports

World of Warcrafts’ esports is a much smaller part of the games overall appeal. It is split into 3 key parts:

WoW PvP esports, known as the AWC, is a 3 vs 3 Arena-based esports. Teams build a team comprised of DPS, healers, and a tank and fight against another side. It’s a direct translation of the in-game 3 vs 3 Arena mode that is available to all players.

WoW PvE Esports, known as the MDI, is the games PvE or timed esports section. Taking place in the games Mythic+ environment, two teams will compete in identical versions of a dungeon and race against time to get to the end. Deaths will count against their time. The mode, like the AWC for PvP, is the same as the Mythic+ mode in World of Warcraft, though normal players will time their best scores on third-party sites.

Lastly, and possibly the most significant of WoW’s esports, is the Race to World First (RWF). This is a community-run event and sees the top guilds in the world compete against each other to kill the end boss of the game’s latest raid content on the Mythic difficulty. Blizzard mostly takes a back seat in the RWF, only providing quick hotfixes to the content to keep the competition flowing. While anyone can compete in the RWF, the ultimate winner is normally one of around 3 or 4 sides who can dedicate themselves fully to the event for a number of weeks.