Gaimin Gladiators Make History By Becoming Bali Major Champions

| Tags: | Author
Gaimin Gladiators Make History By Becoming Bali Major Champions

Gaimin Gladiators have come out on top of Team Liquid to become the Bali Major champions 

Gaimin Gladiators, the Dota 2 titans from Western Europe, have just made history by accomplishing a feat that was previously unimaginable for any other team in the competitive Dota 2 scene. 

Gaimin Gladiators Make History By Becoming Bali Major Champions

Credit: @GaiminGladiator

In a thrilling showdown, Gaimin Gladiators emerged as the victors of the Dota 2 Bali Major by defeating Team Liquid 3-1 in an epic grand final. This remarkable achievement marks the third time this season that Gaimin Gladiators have emerged victorious against Team Liquid in a Major final, solidifying their position as frontrunners for The International 12 later this year. They are now the first team to win three Major Dota 2 titles in a row. The Bali Major crown also marks their fifth successive S-tier tournament win. 

Gaimin Gladiators began their extraordinary run of dominance by claiming their inaugural Major championship at the Lima Major in March. They continued their winning streak by securing victory at DreamLeague Season 19 in April and added to their accomplishments with a second Major title at the Berlin Major in May. Notably, all three of these remarkable achievements came after defeating Liquid in the finals.

The final started with both teams exchanging victories in the first two clashes, setting the stage for a decisive best-of-three showdown to determine the ultimate Major champion of the season. The initial matches were intensely competitive, featuring significant momentum swings that showcased the teams' closely matched skills. In game three, however, Gaimin Gladiators displayed dominance over Liquid, securing a swift victory in just 21 minutes. Although Liquid initially showed promise in game four, the tides quickly turned, leading Gaimin Gladiators to emerge victorious and claim their third Major championship.

With this win, Gaimin Gladiators not only becomes the proud owners of their third Major trophy this year but also walks away with the first-place prize of $200,000. Team Liquid, as the runners-up, receive $100,000, while Tundra Esports secures $75,000 for their third-place finish, and Quest Esports takes home $50,000 for their fourth-place position.

Gaimin Gladiators encountered a somewhat challenging start in the tournament's group stage, only managing to finish third with four draws. Once they advanced to the playoffs, however, they rediscovered their dominant form, swiftly eliminating beastcoast, Quest Esports, and Tundra Esports in the upper bracket, setting the stage for an intense final clash against Liquid.

In contrast, Liquid were outstanding during the group stage. Aydin “iNSaNiA” Sarkohi and company claimed the top position in Group A without a single 2-0 loss. After narrowly edging past PSG.LGD in the first round of the upper bracket, Liquid faced a setback against Tundra Esports in the upper bracket semi-final. They, however, showed resilience in the lower bracket, securing hard-fought 2-1 victories against 9Pandas and Quest Esports. The Dutch outfit redeemed themselves with an impressive 2-0 triumph over Tundra to set up a Grand Final meeting with Gaimin Gladiators. 

Gaimin Gladiators Make History By Becoming Bali Major Champions
The News One