Алекс Макалпайн
Алекс Макалпайн
Алекс окончил UWO по специальности журналистика. Он Королевская битва и гуру FPS. Он часто читает «Winner Winner Chicken Dinner», поскольку он входит в топ 100 в списках лидеров PUBG. Алекс также является экспертом по Overwatch и CoD. Вы можете узнать больше об Алекс через нашу страницу О нас.

WESG 2018: Черная овца про-турниров

WESG
Поделиться на Twitter
Твитнуть
Поделиться на Facebook
Поделиться
Выложить на Reddit
Reddit.
Поделиться по электронной почте
Эл. адрес

Всего лишь за месяц до начала работы WESG 2018 вы можете задаться вопросом: WESG? Ну, WESG или World Electronic Sports Games - это киберспортивный турнир, организованный Alibaba, в котором участвуют CS: GO, Dota 2, Hearthstone и, конечно же, StarCraft II. В этом предстоящем турнире WESG 2018 должен начаться в марте 11, 2019, несмотря на вводящую в заблуждение номенклатуру турнира.

Если вы не слышали об этом турнире до сегодняшнего дня, я не удивлюсь - это, в конце концов, относительно новый турнир (в этом году его второе появление). Но даже в этом случае странно для турнира с призовым фондом, который конкурирует с IEM Katowice, получить так мало освещения в прессе. Может быть, это потому, что Alibaba еще не привык к арене киберспорта, и они недооценивают важность маркетинга и PR. Предприятия испытывают проблемы с ростом, когда выходят на новую территорию. Это возможно, но я не понимаю, почему Blizzard так тихо об этом.

Только на прошлой неделе и изменения назад, Blizzard изложил свой план киберспорта в 2019и не было никакого упоминания об этом турнире. Никак нет. Это означает, что, несмотря на то, что WESG является ведущим турниром, Blizzard не связана с его развитием, несмотря на то, что ПОЛОВИНА турнирных игр, представленных здесь, называется Blizzard. Это имеет какой-то смысл для вас?

Blizzard явно заинтересован (или должен быть заинтересован) в развитии WESG как крупного турнира, и Blizzard, безусловно, обладает опытом, необходимым для проведения маркетинговой и PR-кампании и оказания помощи в турнирной логистике, особенно учитывая, что они в основном основали современный киберспорт. Так почему же Alibaba не обратилась к Blizzard (или наоборот) за помощью или перекрестной рекламой? Blizzard в партнерстве с Intel, вот что такое IEM Katowice (Intel Extreme Masters). Я нашел эту ситуацию очень странной.

Итак, я обратился к своему контактному лицу в Blizzard esports PR за комментарием и не получил ответа.

Конечно, когда я обратился, это было до того, как ActiBlizzard увеличил 8% организации и потопил поддержку администрации и сообщества, так что, возможно, этот результат не так уж удивителен.

Вот что мы знаем: WESG 2018 не является санкционированным турниром Blizzard и не присуждает очки WCS (в отличие от IEM Katowice). Почему он не санкционирован, остается загадкой. Можно подумать, что Blizzard захочет стать партнером Alibaba и продвигать такой большой турнир (здесь присутствуют конкуренты мирового уровня, включая Maru, Serral и Dark), но, очевидно, они этого не делают, а Blizzard остается напряженной. в этом вопросе

Но достаточно о компании сплетен. Для тех из вас, кто интересуется, кто прошел через квалификаторы StarCraft II, вот список спойлеров для участников: (Обратите внимание, что этот список не является окончательным и может быть изменен)

WESG 2018 должен начаться в марте 11, 2019, примерно через неделю после IEM Katowice XIII и закончиться в марте 17, 2019. Вы можете смотреть поток здесь Ютубили вы можете посмотреть его на Twitch здесь or здесь, Платформа для просмотра этих потоков оставляет желать лучшего, так как некоторые повторы являются кроссплатформенными и трудными для навигации (например, поток Hearthstone идет в StarCraft II).


Изображение через: Starladder

▰ Подробнее StarCraft Новости

▰ Последние новости киберспорта

РЕКЛАМА

Scott Abrams | StarCraft Expert

Scott Abrams | StarCraft Expert

Scott is a Master-league StarCraft 2 player who has been playing since 2013. He is active in the StarCraft community and is frequently spectated in the arcade. When he is not getting stomped on the ladder, he enjoys reading, writing, and photography. You can learn more about Scott on our About page.

Advertisement

WESG 2018: The Black Sheep of Pro-Tournaments

WESG
Tweet
Share
Reddit
E-Mail
Tweet
Share
Reddit

With only a month before WESG 2018 is set to begin, you may be wondering, what is WESG? Well, WESG, or the World Electronic Sports Games, is an esports tournament hosted by Alibaba featuring CS:GO, Dota 2, Hearthstone, and of course, StarCraft II. In this upcoming tournament, WESG 2018 is set to begin on March 11, 2019, despite the tournament’s misleading nomenclature.

If you haven’t heard about this tournament before today, I wouldn’t be surprised – it is, after all, a relatively new tournament (This year marks its second appearance). But even so, it’s odd for a tournament with a prize pool that rivals IEM Katowice to receive so little press coverage. Maybe it’s because Alibaba’s isn’t used to the esports arena yet and they’re underestimating the importance of marketing and PR. Businesses have growing pains when they branch out to new territory. It’s possible, but what I don’t understand is why Blizzard’s so quiet about this.

Just last week and change ago, Blizzard outlined their plan for esports in 2019, and there was no mention of this tournament. None whatsoever. That means that despite WESG being a premier tournament, Blizzard is not associated with its development despite HALF of the tournament games featured here being Blizzard titles. Does that make any sense to you?

Blizzard clearly has an interest (Or should have an interest) in developing WESG as a major tournament and Blizzard certainly has the experience necessary to run a marketing and PR campaign and assist with tournament logistics, especially considering that they basically founded modern esports. So why hasn’t Alibaba reached out to Blizzard (or vice-versa) for assistance or cross-promotion? Blizzard partnered with Intel, that’s what IEM Katowice is (Intel Extreme Masters). I found this situation very odd.

So, I reached out to my contact at Blizzard esports PR for a comment and received no response.

Of course, when I reached out, that was before ActiBlizzard axed 8% of the organization and gutted administration and community support, so maybe this result’s not that surprising.

Here’s what we do know though: WESG 2018 is not a sanctioned Blizzard tournament and does not award any WCS points (Unlike IEM Katowice). Why it’s unsanctioned remains a mystery. You’d think Blizzard would want to partner with Alibaba and promote a tournament this big (World-class competitors are here, including Maru, Serral, and Dark to name a few) but evidently, they don’t, and Blizzard remains tight-lipped on this matter.

But enough about the company gossip. For those of you who are interested in who made it through the StarCraft II qualifiers, here is the spoiler list for attendees: (Please note that this list is not final and may be subject to change)

WESG 2018 is set to begin on March 11, 2019, roughly one week after IEM Katowice XIII and ends on March 17, 2019. You can watch the stream here on Youtube, or you can watch it on Twitch here or here. The platform for watching these streams leave much to be desired, as some of the replays are cross-platform and are hard to navigate (ex. Hearthstone stream goes to StarCraft II).


Image via: Starladder

Latest Esports Articles

LCS: Week Nine Day One Recap

OpTic Gaming V Golden Guardians   Golden Guardians made history today for their organization as they punched their ticket to the playoffs. GGS has had solid early-game performances recently and continued that streak

Read More »
MAJ3R leaves ex-Space Soldiers

MAJ3R Leaves ex-Space Soliders Lineup

Engin “MAJ3R” Küpeli has announced that he is leaving the ex-Space Soldiers lineup this morning through a post on Twitter. 28-year-old in-game leader Engin “MAJ3R” Küpeli announced that he was leaving the ex-Space

Read More »

More Esports Articles