NBA 2K League Adds 4 Expansion Teams

| Tags: | Author
NBA 2K League Adds 4 Expansion Teams

Four new NBA teams will be added for Season 2 of the NBA 2K League. The Los Angeles Lakers, Minnesota Timberwolves, Atlanta Hawks, and Brooklyn Nets will be the new franchises.

“From their innovative spirit to their global reach, we know each of these teams will be a tremendous addition, and we are thrilled that this growth offers the opportunity for new players, coaches and support staff to join the league.” said Brendan Donohue, NBA 2K League Managing Director.

The franchise fee for new teams is reported to be $750,000 USD, but additional costs such as housing, transportation, and salaries are not included in that fee. In comparison the Overwatch League expansion teams are paying an estimated $35-45 million USD expansion fee.

The NBA 2K League playoffs begin on August 17th with the quarter finals being played that day. The best 2 out of 3 semifinals will be played the following day. The finals of the NBA 2K League will be played on August 25th. You can catch the live stream of these games here on ESTNN.

The expansion teams will need to get some practice in on the new NBA 2K19 which releases September 7 for Deluxe 20th Anniversary Edition owners and September 11 for Standard Editionir?t=estnn 20&l=am2&o=1&a=B07DQMMPML owners. You can get a quick rundown on the new game here.

Corey Pollack
Corey is a team member of one of the world's largest esports organizations. Corey is also the founder of Wave Digital Media, one of Canada's 60 fastest growing companies. You can learn more about Corey via our About page.