First Look at the New TFT Set 9: Runeterra Reforged

| Tags: | Author
First Look at the New TFT Set 9: Runeterra Reforged

Teamfight Tactics is going back to the roots of the League of Legends universe with the new set Runeterra Reforged.

TFT Set 9: Runeterra Reforged will be available to play on the Public Beta Environment (PBE) server with the release of LoL patch 13.11, which is on May 31. The set itself goes live on the next patch, June 14, so with only two weeks before the new set arrives, Riot put on a reveal stream on their Twitch.

The new set will see players move around the Runeterra as the new core set mechanic. TFT Set 9 will also include a lot more new mechanics that will let players make choices about their preferred playstyles and a plethora of quality-of-life upgrades.

Players will hop around ten different regions of Runeterra in TFT Set 9

The core mechanic for the new TFT set is called Region Portals. At the beginning of a game, each player will be given three portals opening up to a place in Runeterra. Players will vote on which region they want to play the game, each region has a different effect, which then League of Legends players’ favorite mage, Ryze, will transport them there. There are a total of eleven possible portals, 10 regions and a random selection. The regions are:

  • Bandle City
  • Demacia
  • Freljord
  • Ionia
  • Noxus
  • Piltover
  • Shadow Isles
  • Shurima
  • Targon
  • Zaun
Teamfight Tactics Global Set Championship Dates Revealed

Aside from the portals, there is also a new feature added with Set 9, which seems to be a permanent addition to the game. Legends are equipable avatars in the pregame lobby, which then customizes the players’ augments according to their preferences. There are 15 total Legends and all are free and available to all players. The Legends are:

  • Ornn
  • Tahm Kench
  • Veigar
  • Draven
  • Pengu
  • Urf
  • Aurelion Sol
  • Master Yi
  • Ezreal
  • Lee Sin
  • Vladimir
  • Caitlyn
  • Twisted Fate
  • Bard
  • Poro

The tailored augments from these Legends can show up on each stage organically or after a reroll, which also has a different look. Players can now individually reroll their augments once on every stage. Last but not least, there are multiple quality life upgrades to the UI such as an improved champion inspect tool, inspect champion option during carousels and the ability to interact with champions on trait and class pages.

Units and traits in Runeterra Reforged



  • Cassiopeia
  • Cho'Gath
  • Irelia
  • Jhin
  • Kayle
  • Malzahar
  • Maokai
  • Orianna
  • Poppy
  • Renekton
  • Samira
  • Tristana
  • Viego


  • Ashe
  • Galio
  • Jinx
  • Kassadin
  • Kled
  • Sett
  • Soraka
  • Swain
  • Taliyah
  • Teemo
  • Vi
  • Warwick
  • Zed


  • Akshan
  • Darius
  • Ekko
  • Garen
  • Jayce
  • Kalista
  • Karma
  • Katarina
  • Lissandra
  • Rek'Sai
  • Sona
  • Taric
  • Vel'Koz


  • Aphelios
  • Azir
  • Gwen
  • Jarvan IV
  • Kai'Sa
  • Lux
  • Nasus
  • Sejuani
  • Shen
  • Urgot
  • Yasuo
  • Zeri


  • Aatrox
  • Ahri
  • Bel’Veth
  • Heimerdinger
  • K’Sante
  • Ryze
  • Senna
  • Sion


  • Demacia
  • Freljord
  • Ionia
  • Noxus
  • Shurima
  • Piltover
  • Shadow Isles
  • Targon
  • Void
  • Zaun
  • Bastion
  • Bruiser
  • Challenger
  • Darkin
  • Deadeye
  • Empress
  • Gunner
  • Multicaster
  • Invoker
  • Rogue
  • Juggernaut
  • Sorcerer
  • Slayer
  • Strategist
  • Redeemer
  • Technogenius
  • Wanderer
Teamfight Tactics Global Set Championship Dates Revealed

For more Teamfight Tactics news and guides, follow us on ESTNN.

First Look at the New TFT Set 9: Runeterra Reforged
Rohat Dicle Kılınç
Rohat is a writer mainly focused on the League of Legends esports scene, and an LCS hopeful.