Final Fantasy 16: All Eikons Explained

| Tags: | Author
Final Fantasy 16: All Eikons Explained

In Final Fantasy 16, the figure of the Eikons plays a role of fundamental importance, both at the plot level and at the gameplay level. Precisely for this reason, we decided to create an article that included all the Eikons in the game in one place, giving a brief explanation of them and their characteristics. If you have just embarked on your journey into the world of Final Fantasy 16, the information you are about to read will surely help you in your adventure.

What are Eikons?

Before going further and giving you more detailed information on the subject, it is important to explain what Eikons are. The Eikons are very powerful summons that will be unlocked gradually during the game and that allows the protagonist, Clive, to have very strong powers and abilities. There are ten Eikons in Final Fantasy 16, but there are eight that players will be able to unlock since the other two are enemy Eikons. Below, here is a complete list of all Eikons:

  • Phoenix
  • Garuda
  • Ifrit
  • Ramuh
  • Titan
  • Bahamut
  • Shiva
  • Odin
  • Typhon
  • Titan Lost


Phoenix is the Eikon bonded to Clive's younger brother Joshua and is unlockable during the “Sunrise, Sunset” main quest. As you can guess from its name, this Eikon was created taking a phoenix as a reference point, in fact, it looks like a large bird enveloped in flames that is able to kill its enemies with the use of fire.

Phoenix grants Clive the use of 5 special abilities that the protagonist can learn at the beginning of the aforementioned main mission, even if he can only start using them at the beginning of the following one. The 5 skills in question are:

  • Rising Flames
  • Heatwave
  • Flames of Rebirth
  • Phoenix Shift
  • Scarlet Cyclone



Garuda's Dominant is Benedikta Harman, one of the antagonists of Final Fantasy 16, and can be unlocked during the main quest “Headwind”, although her abilities can only be equipped starting from the following mission, i.e. “Wings of Change”. Garuda, Eikon of the wind, is one of the Eikons that Clive will have to face and defeat in order to continue his adventure.

DreamHack Summer 2024 - What Esports is all About

Garuda will give Clive the opportunity to make use of 5 very powerful skills that will come in very handy throughout the story. The 5 skills you can unlock once you have enough Skill Points (AP) are:

  • Aerial Blast
  • Rook's Gambit
  • Deadly Embrace
  • Wicked Wheel
  • Gouge



Ifrit is another Eikon related to the element of fire, as is the case with Phoenix. His Dominant is Clive, the protagonist of Final Fantasy 16. The fact that he is a fire Eikon, allows Clive to acquire skills related to it. He is unlockable during the course of the “Buried Memories” main quest, but his abilities will be available from the next quest.

Ifrit's skills, as already mentioned, are related to fire and, unlike all other Eikons, Ifrit grants Clive the possibility of acquiring only 3 skills. Ifrit's abilities are as follows:

  • Will o' the Wykes
  • Limit Break
  • Ignition



Ramuh is the Eikon of thunder and is related to the Dominant Cidolfus (Cid). He is unlockable during the main quest “The Crystal's Curse”, although his abilities will be available starting in the next one, “Cid the Outlaw”. As shown in some gameplay clips, Ramuh is capable of launching attacks composed of lightning and bolts.

Ramuh will give Clive the opportunity to acquire 5 skills that will be very useful in combat to defeat even the most formidable opponents. The skills in question are as follows:

  • Pile Drive
  • Lightning Rod
  • Blind Justice
  • Judgment Bolt
  • Thunderstorm



Titan is a very powerful Eikon, even bigger than Ifrit, capable of throwing large objects long distances at his enemies. His Dominant is Hugo and is unlocked during the “Capital Punishment” mission, after facing and defeating Hugo, although, as usual, his abilities will be available starting from the following mission.

Titan's abilities are very powerful, precisely because they reflect his nature, and it is for this reason that some of them are indicated to be unlocked immediately, in order to have an easier life during the game. Titan's abilities are:

  • Raging Fists
  • Windup
  • Earthen Fury
  • Titanic Block
  • Upheaval



Bahamut is an Eikon that looks like a large dragon from which large blue flames come out. Bahamut is the Eikon associated with the character Dion, the prince of the Holy Empire of Sanbreque. His skills will be acquired during the main quest “Fire in the Sky”.

AFK Journey Primal Lord Crystal Beetle - Best Formations

The Bahamut's skills will be very useful to you during your battles, especially as you progress through the adventure. Clive has the ability to acquire 5 different skills which are as follows:

  • Wings of Light
  • Flare Breath
  • Impulse
  • Satellite
  • Gigaflare



Shiva is an ice Eikon and is related to the character of Jill, a childhood friend of the protagonist Clive. She is distinguished from the rest of the other Eikons by her beauty and her femininity. Shiva will be unlocked during the main quest “Through the Maelstrom” and will give Clive the ability to acquire her abilities.

Shiva's skills, since it is an Eikon of the ice element, are all related to it and are certainly useful during certain battles with particular enemies. Shiva's abilities are as follows:

  • Diamond Dust
  • Rime
  • Ice Age
  • Mesmerize
  • Cold Snap



Odin is usually depicted riding his horse, intent on slaying enemies with his enormous sword. The Dominant related to this Eikon is Barbanas which represents the element of darkness. Odin is unlocked during the main quest “The Last King”.

Since it is an Eikon linked to the element of darkness, the skills that Clive will acquire once Odin is unlocked will also be linked to this element. Odin's abilities are as follows:

  • Gungnir
  • Heaven's Cloud
  • Rift Ship
  • Arm of Darkness
  • Dancing Steel



Typhon is one of the enemy Eikons featured in Final Fantasy 16. His character is characterized by a very robust torso and very powerful powers. Being an enemy Eikon, unlike the others, we talked about previously, it is not possible to unlock it, but it is only possible to face it as a boss fight in the main mission “The Crystals' Curse”.


Titan Lost

Titan Lost is another hostile EIkon that players will encounter throughout their adventure in Final Fantasy 16. It is shown as a giant made up of rocks and tentacles surrounding it. His Dominant is Hugo Kupka, his element is earth and it is possible to face him during the main quest “Into the Darkness”. As in the case of Typhon, Titan Lost also does not allow you to unlock skills.

titan lost

Final Fantasy 16: All Eikons Explained
Diana D'Estefano
Diana has been a huge fan of video games since she was a child. She started her "career" with Nintendo and then moved on to other platforms as well. Although she is a big fan of horror games, she plays almost all genres fearlessly. She writes news, reviews, guides, and features about both AAA and indie games.