Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes: The Warlock Class and Subclasses Guide

| Tags: | Author
Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes: The Warlock Class and Subclasses Guide

When playing a game like Baldur's Gate 3, it is vital to select the class that best fits your playing style. You may notice, for example, that you utilize some skills more frequently than others, or that certain races are more comparable to particular classes than others. Following our discussion of The Rogue class, in this article, we have decided to provide you with a broad overview of The Warlock class so that you are aware of the peculiarities of this specific class in Baldur's Gate 3.

The Warlock class overview

Baldur's Gate 3 has twelve classes, including the Warlock. Charisma is the class's main ability, while Wisdom and Charisma are its saving throw abilities. It is also important to mention that their Hit Die is 1d8. This class's members are skilled with simple weapons and light armor.

Bound by a pact forged with an omnipotent patron, Warlocks willingly exchange their unwavering loyalty for the acquisition of supernatural abilities and the mastery of unique and esoteric magic. This solemn agreement transcends mortal realms, intertwining their fates with otherworldly entities of immense power and enigmatic nature. Through this mystical bond, Warlocks tap into an unfathomable wellspring of arcane energy, channeling it to manifest their desires and shape reality itself.

Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes: The Warlock Class

The Warlock class features

To offer you a more complete grasp of The Warlock class and all of the features it possesses, we have compiled a list of all the qualities you will have access to if you choose to begin your Baldur's Gate 3 journey as a member of The Warlock class.

  • Warlock Spell Slots: Your warlock spell slots are constantly at the highest level possible and recharge after a brief rest.
  • Proficiency with Wisdom Saving Throws: When making Wisdom Saving Throws, add your proficiency bonus.
  • Proficiency Bonus for Charisma Saving Throws: Increase the effectiveness of your Charisma saving throws by your proficiency bonus.
  • Proficiency with Light Armor: Wearing Light Armor won't give you a disadvantage in combat or prevent you from casting spells.
  • Simple Weapon Proficiency: When using simple weapons, your proficiency bonus is added to attack rolls (your chance to hit a target).
Gori: Cuddly Carnage - Stray Meets Gremlins - DreamHack Summer 2024

The Warlock subclasses

Players in Baldur's Gate 3 can choose from any of The Warlock's three subclasses. Subclasses are variants on the main class that allow players to acquire special abilities and characteristics that are peculiar to that subclass while still maintaining the parent class's attributes, even if they choose to go down alternative paths. The Warlock can be classified as one of the following subclasses:

  • The Fiend
    • Dark One's Blessing: This favor from your patron gives you hit points equal to your level plus Charisma Modifier when you bring a hostile creature to zero hit points.
  • The Great Old One
    • Mortal Reminder: When you deal a Critical Hit to an enemy, both the enemy and any close allies are Feared until the conclusion of the enemy's subsequent turn.
  • Archfey
    • Fey Presence: Beginning at level 1, you have the capacity to summon the seductive and ominous presence of the fey thanks to the patronage of your patron. You can, as an action, force each creature in a 10-foot cube radiating from you to attempt a Wisdom saving throw vs your Warlock spell save DC. Depending on your preference, you can charm or scare all creatures that fail their saving throws until the end of your next turn. This feature cannot be used again until you have completed a short or long rest.
    • Misty Escape: Beginning at level 6, you have the ability to flee from danger by vanishing in a cloud of mist. You have the ability to teleport up to 60 feet to an empty area that you can see after you take damage by using your reaction to become invisible. Until the beginning of your subsequent turn, or until you make an attack or cast a spell, you are invisible. Once you've used this feature, you aren't able to use it again until you've finished a short or long rest.
    • Beguiling Defenses: Starting at level 10, your patron teaches you how to use your foes' mind-controlling spells to your advantage. You can use your reaction to try to turn the charm back on the creature who is attempting to captivate you because you are immune to being charmed. The creature must make a successful Wisdom saving throw versus your warlock spell save DC or it will be charmed by you for 1 minute or until it sustains damage.
Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes: The Warlock Class and Subclasses Guide
Diana D'Estefano
Diana has been a huge fan of video games since she was a child. She started her "career" with Nintendo and then moved on to other platforms as well. Although she is a big fan of horror games, she plays almost all genres fearlessly. She writes news, reviews, guides, and features about both AAA and indie games.