Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes: The Ranger Class and Subclasses Guide

| Tags: | Author
Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes: The Ranger Class and Subclasses Guide

It's important to select the class that best fits your playing style when playing a game like Baldur's Gate 3. For instance, you might utilize some skills more frequently than others, or you might find that some races are more similar to particular classes than others. So that you are aware of the traits of this specific class in Baldur's Gate 3, we have decided to give you a broad review of The Ranger class in this article after talking about The Fighter class.

The Ranger class overview

In Baldur's Gate 3, there are twelve classes, including the Ranger. Dexterity is the primary ability of this class, while Strength and Dexterity are its saving throw proficiencies. It should also be mentioned that their Hit Die is 1d10. This class is skilled in the use of basic weapons, martial weapons, light and medium armor, as well as shields.

Rangers possess unparalleled skills as scouts and trackers, diligently cultivating a profound bond with the natural world to pursue their preferred quarry. With their unwavering dedication and exceptional skills, they stand as the epitome of wilderness expertise. These formidable individuals go beyond mere hunting; they become one with the environment, blending seamlessly into the landscape like a phantom of the wild.

Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes- The Ranger

The Ranger class features

We have chosen to compile a list of all the characteristics you will have access to if you choose to start your Baldur's Gate 3 journey as a member of The Ranger class, in order to provide you with a more thorough grasp of The Ranger class and all the traits it possesses.

  • Proficiency in Strength Saving Throws: Increase Strength Saving Throws by the amount of your Proficiency Bonus.
  • Proficiency in Dexterity Saving Throws: Increase Dexterity Saving Throws by the amount of your Proficiency Bonus.
  • Proficiency in Light Armor: Wearing Light Armor won't give you an edge in combat or stop you from casting spells.
  • Proficiency in Medium Armor: Wearing Medium Armor will not cause your attacks to suffer a disadvantage or hinder you from casting spells.
  • Proficiency with a shield: Using a shield won't give you a disadvantage in combat or stop you from casting spells.
  • Proficiency with Simple Weapons: Increase all attacks made with Simple Weapons by your Proficiency Bonus.
  • Martial Weapon Proficiency: Increase all attacks made with martial weapons by your proficiency bonus.
AFK Journey Chest Locations: Where to Find All of the Chests in the World Map

The ranger subclasses

In Baldur's Gate 3, players can choose from one of three The Ranger subclasses. Subclasses are variants of the primary class that grant players access to special talents and characteristics that are specific to that subclass while still maintaining the parent class's features, even if they opt to follow other paths. The subclasses of The Ranger are as follows:

  • Beast Master
    • Summon Companion: You can summon a beast companion to accompany you on your journeys and to fight with you.
  • Hunter
    • Colossus Slayer: If the target's health point total is below its maximum, your weapon strike deals an additional 1d8 damage to it once each round.
    • Giant Killer: Your reaction can be used to launch a melee assault if a Large or larger creature attacks you.
    • Horde Breaker: Attack two monsters that are nearby one another, quickly alternating attacks on them.
  • Gloom Stalker
    • Gloom Stalker Magic: Beginning at level 3, you learn an additional spell as you advance through this class, as indicated in the table of Gloom Stalker spells. The spell counts toward the amount of spells you know, but it doesn't count as one for you.
    • Dread Ambusher: At level 3, you have attained ambush mastery. You can increase your initiative rolls by the amount of your Wisdom modifier. Your walking speed improves by 10 feet at the beginning of your first turn in each conflict, and it stays that way until the end of that turn. You may use one more weapon attack as part of your attack action if you choose to do so on that turn. The victim receives an additional 1d8 of the weapon's damage type if the attack succeeds.
    • Umbral Sight: At level 3, you acquire 60-foot-distance dark vision. The range of your dark vision is extended by 30 feet if you already have it from your race. You are also good at avoiding anything that has dark vision. Any creature that uses dark vision to view things in the dark cannot see you while you are in the dark.
    • Iron Mind: By level 7, you have perfected your capacity to fend off your prey's mind-bending abilities. You improve your ability to make wise saving throws. If you already possess this skill, you can choose to acquire proficiency in Charisma or Intelligence saving throws instead.
    • Stalker's Flurry: At level 11, you master the ability to attack with such unexpected speed that you can follow up a missed opportunity. When you miss a weapon attack once during each of your turns, you can still perform the same action with a different weapon attack.
Baldur’s Gate 3 Classes: The Ranger Class and Subclasses Guide
Diana D'Estefano
Diana has been a huge fan of video games since she was a child. She started her "career" with Nintendo and then moved on to other platforms as well. Although she is a big fan of horror games, she plays almost all genres fearlessly. She writes news, reviews, guides, and features about both AAA and indie games.