David Hollingsworth
David Hollingsworth
David has written for games media outlets for the last seven years. With his first major esports role being with Esports News UK covering mostly UK League of Legends. David is also a member of the British Esports Association and is an advisor to them on World of Warcraft Esports. More recently David has worked for Esports Insider and Red Bull as an esports journalist.

WoW: When Does TBC Classic Launch?

A map of the world shows the global release times in different countries for TBC Classic across June 1 and 2
Share on twitter
Tweet
Share on facebook
Share
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

With the global release of TBC Classic expected on June 1st/2nd it’s just a matter of time zone.


Global releases are fantastic. Honestly, we love them, and we're  glad Blizzard is continuing to do them in Classic. There’s always one problem with a global release, however, and that’s good old time zones. So when Blizzard announces that Classic TBC will launch on June 1st, that can throw up a lot of questions for anyone outside the USA. Have no fear, however, we’ve got you covered in this article.

When will TBC Classic be released?

A map of the world shows the global release times in different countries for TBC Classic across June 1 and 2

So, the key to remember is in the above image; If you live west of London, you’ll get it on Tuesday, June 1. If you live east of London you’ll get it on Wednesday, June 2.

June 1st:

  • Americas (PDT) - 3AM
  • Americas (EDT) - 6PM
  • Brazil (BRT) - 7PM
  • UK (BST) - 11 PM

June 2nd:

  • Europe (CET) - 12AM (midnight)
  • Moscow (MSK) - 1AM
  • India (IST) - 3:30 AM
  • Taiwan (CST) - 6AM
  • Korea (KST) - 7AM
  • ANZ (AEDT) - 8AM

And that’s it. The release is global, and everything should go live as the clock strikes those times (be sure to /reload). It’s worth noting that in the past Blizzard has staggered the release over a 10-15 minute window for players. This essentially means they’ll “unlock” the portal for 10% of the people waiting at a time, as to avoid everyone zoning in at the same time.

MORE FROM ESTNN
WoW: What's Coming In Shadowlands Patch 9.1

Will TBC Classic feature layering?

One thing that will help on TBC Classic launch is layering. While it’s not a popular feature with the community, it’s become Blizzard's key way to combat server instability, and thankfully it will be turned off shortly after launch.

In fact, current pre-patch servers have layering turned on, due to the huge volume of players trying to level a new Draenei or Blood Elf character.

▰ More World of Warcraft News

▰ Latest Esports News

▰ Featured Esports Videos

More News

Esports
ADVERTISEMENT

Bookmark ESTNN & Follow Us On Social