Worlds 2023 Schedule, Format and Results

| Tags: | Author
Worlds 2023 Schedule, Format and Results

Everything you need to know about the Worlds 2023 Main Event, which will kick off on October 19.


Worlds 2023 Main Event Format

First time in Worlds history, Riot will hold their Groups Stage in a Swiss format. In the Swiss format, all teams are placed into one group and teams with the same win-loss record compete against each other until they achieve three wins or three losses. For Round 1, teams will randomly face an opponent from a region other than their own. In consequent rounds, teams will face another random team that has the same record as they have. For example, a 0-1 team will face another 0-1 team, a 1-0 team will face a 1-0 team, etc.

All Round 1 and 2 games will be played as Bo1s, but Bo3s will start once we hit Round 3. Any matchup that can eliminate or advance a team will be a Bo3 series. Swiss format also addresses the biggest problem with the GSL group format Riot used to use. There won’t be any games on the last day of groups where a team knows their destiny and the game is meaningless for them and their fans. All in all,  the Swiss Stage will feature a total of 33 matches, 20 Bo1s, and 13 Bo3s. The previous Groups Stage format for Worlds had 48 Bo1s and no best-of series.

There are 16 teams—divided into four pools—competing in the Swiss Stage of the Worlds 2023. 14 of these teams are qualified directly from the four major regions, with two extra teams having qualified via the Play-In Stage. 

  • Pool 1: Gen.G (LCK#1), JDG (LPL#1), G2 Esports (LEC#1), NRG (LCS#1)
  • Pool 2: T1 (LCK#1), BLG (LPL#2), Fnatic (LEC#2), Cloud9 (LCS#2)
  • Pool 3: KT Rolster (LCK#3), LNG (LPL#3), MAD Lions (LEC#3), Team Liquid (LCS#3)
  • Pool 4: Dplus KIA (LCK#4), Weibo Gaming (LPL#4), GAM Esports (Play-In), BDS (Play-In)
MORE FROM ESTNN
T1 vs G2 Esports MSI 2024 Bracket Stage Recap - The Rematch

Worlds 2023 Schedule

Swiss Stage

Swiss Round 1 (October 19)

  • T1 1 – 0 Team Liquid (10 p.m. PST*|7 a.m. CET)
  • Cloud9 1 – 0 MAD Lions (11 p.m. PST*|8 a.m. CET)
  • Gen.G 1 – 0 GAM Esports (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • JDG 1-0 BDS (1 a.m. PST|10 a.m. CET)
  • G2 Esports 1-0 Dplus KIA (2 a.m. PST|11 a.m. CET)
  • NRG 0 – 1 Weibo Gaming (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)
  • Fnatic 0 – 1 LNG (4 a.m. PST|1 p.m. CET)
  • BLG 1 – 0 KT Rolster (5 a.m. PST|2 p.m. CET)

Swiss Round 2 (October 20)

  • NRG vs. Team Liquid (10 p.m. PST*|7 a.m. CET)
  • Cloud9 vs. LNG (11 p.m. PST*|8 a.m. CET)
  • MAD Lions vs. BDS (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • Fnatic vs. GAM Esports (1 a.m. PST|10 a.m. CET)
  • Gen.G vs. T1 (2 a.m. PST|11 a.m. CET)
  • G2 Esports vs. Weibo (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)
  • JDG vs. BLG (4 a.m. PST|1 p.m. CET)
  • KT Rolster vs. Dplus KIA (5 a.m. PST|2 p.m. CET)

Swiss Round 3 (October 21)

  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)

Swiss Round 3 (October 22)

  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (1 a.m. PST|10 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (2 a.m. PST|11 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)

Swiss Round 3 (October 23)

  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)
MORE FROM ESTNN
Gen.G VS Bilibili Gaming MSI 2024 Grand Final - Winner Takes all

Swiss Round 4 (October 26)

  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)

Swiss Round 4 (October 27)

  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)

Swiss Round 4 (October 28)

  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)

Swiss Round 5 (October 29)

  • TBD vs. TBD (9 p.m. PST*|6 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (3 a.m. PST|12 p.m. CET)

Knockout Stage

Quarterfinals (November 2-5)

  • TBD vs. TBD (1 a.m. PST|10 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (1 a.m. PST|10 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (1 a.m. PST|10 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (1 a.m. PST|10 a.m. CET)

Semifinals (November 11-12)

  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)
  • TBD vs. TBD (12 a.m. PST|9 a.m. CET)

Finals (November 18)

  • TBD vs. TBD (11 p.m. PST|8 a.m. CET)

*Indicates the calendar day before.

How to watch Worlds 2023 Main Event

Fans can watch every game of Worlds 2023 on the official LoL Esports website, Riot Games Twitch channel or the LoL Esports Youtube channel. Also for the first time in Worlds history, a number of content creators selected by Riot around the world will be able to costream the event.


For more of our coverage of the Worlds 2023 Play-in Stage and the Main Event, you can follow us on ESTNN.

Worlds 2023 Schedule, Format and Results
Rohat Dicle Kılınç
Rohat is a writer mainly focused on the League of Legends esports scene, and an LCS hopeful.