How To Unlock Flying In World of Warcraft: Shadowlands

| Tags: | Author
How To Unlock Flying In World of Warcraft: Shadowlands

With the release of patch 9.1 comes the release of Flying in the Shadowlands. Find out how to unlock flying ahead of time so you don’t get left stuck on the ground.

Flying mounts have become one of the most touchy subjects in the WoW community since they launched during the Burning Crusades. They’ve been a staple of every expansion since, though when they come out tend to vary. Recently, however, Blizzard has been dropping the ability to fly around these new zones in the first major patch of an expansion. Shadowlands, in that regard, is no exception.

How Do You Unlock Flying In Shadowlands 9.1?

Compared to previous expansions, Shadowlands has it pretty easy. Now, you’ll just need to complete a number of new quests added in 9.1. No reputation grinding this time. Prior to patch 9.1, the Covenant Campaign would end at renown 22, with level 40 being the max rank. 9.1 will add new renown levels, though, we had previously been told we’d need to complete the full campaign, as of now this is not the case.

Patch 9.1 will add more renown levels with flying being unlocked via Memories of Sunless Skies (shown below). This item will unlock account-wide flying in the Shadowlands, though this won't work in The Maw, Oribos, and the new area, Korthia. Flying will be unlock once players reach Renown 44 and complete “The Last Sigil”, which is possible in week two of 9.1

WoW The War Within Roadmap and Release Date Info

An image of the item description for the Memories of the Sunless Sky item which players recieve after unlocking flying

Here’s what Game Director Ion Hazzikostas had to say:

“Shadowlands Pathfinder, which is coming in Chains of Domination, will not require any reputation. This is different from Pathfinder achievements from past expansions, it just requires completing your full Covenant campaign and the new chapters added in Chains of Domination. Once you've done that, you have mastered the overworld of Shadowlands, restored much of the Anima, and then you can earn the ability to fly within the Shadowlands.”

Can you fly anywhere in Shadowlands?

One limitation of flying in Shadowlands comes in the form of being limited to the zone you're in. Sadly, that means no flying from zone to zone.

You can fly inside: Bastion, Maldraxxus, Ardenweald, and Ravendreth

You cannot fly inside: The Maw, Oribos, or the new area Korthia

Can you fly in the Maw?

The Maw will remain strictly ground mounts only going forward. Though, with the Maw looking like it’ll stay one step behind the rest of the Shadowlands, we might just be able to fly in the zone one day.

When can I use Flying?

As with previous WoW expansions, Shadowlands will let you fly (apart from in the introduction quest) from level 50 onwards once you’ve unlocked it on one character. As always, this will vastly improve, and speed up the overall leveling experience in Shadowlands.

WoW War Within Editions And Pre-Order Bonuses Explained

What are the Covenant flying mounts in Shadowlands?

Each Covenant will receive a unique flying mount, with a number of color variants of each. Below you’ll get an early look at what Blizzard has planned.

Featured image courtesy of Wowhead

How To Unlock Flying In World of Warcraft: Shadowlands
David Hollingsworth
David has written for games media outlets for the last ten years. With his first major esports role being with Esports News UK covering mostly UK League of Legends. David is also a member of the British Esports Association and is an advisor to them on World of Warcraft Esports. More recently David has worked for Esports Insider and Red Bull as an esports journalist. David later became Editor at ESTNN and now leads the current team.