Call of Duty League 2021 Structure Revealed

| Tags: | Author
Call of Duty League 2021 Structure Revealed

The Call of Duty League have revealed a brand new structure for the 2021 season.

While the inaugural Call of Duty League season was generally viewed as a success, many fans and players alike had some distaste for its format. With only 10 out of the 12 teams competing at each event, there was no real opportunity for a dynasty to cement. This year that changes, with a brand new structure for the 2021 Call of Duty League season.

Five Stage Structure

The 2021 Call of Duty League season will feature five stages. Each stage will culminate in a Major tournament. During each stage, all 12 teams will compete in five group play matches to determine their seed for the Major. Each stage will feature three Home Series events ahead of the Major. Here, all 12 teams will be split into two groups for their five group play matches.

Major Tournament Structure

The Major tournaments throughout the year will all be played in a double-elimination bracket. The teams' seeds will be based on their performances from the three previous Home Series events leading up to the Major.

Call of Duty League Points

Yes, CDL Points still matter. Teams will earn CDL points for each victory in the Group Play matches, with additional points distributed for teams' performances at Majors. CDL Points are more important than ever this year, with only the top eight teams qualifying for the Call of Duty League Postseason.

You can watch the whole explainer video here:

We haven't yet received any information on the start date for the 2021 Call of Duty League season. However, we are set to see a massive 15 Home Series events and five Majors throughout the season.

Avatar of Charlie Cater
Charlie Cater
Charlie "MiniTates" Cater has been an esports writer since May 2020, specialising in Call of Duty. He is also a University Student studying esports.