Алекс Макалпайн
Алекс Макалпайн
Алекс окончил UWO по специальности журналистика. Он Королевская битва и гуру FPS. Он часто читает «Winner Winner Chicken Dinner», поскольку он входит в топ 100 в списках лидеров PUBG. Алекс также является экспертом по Overwatch и CoD. Вы можете узнать больше об Алекс через нашу страницу О нас.

Activison Blizzard подтверждает городской франчайзинг для Call of Duty Pro League

Activision Blizzard Call of Duty
Поделиться на Twitter
Твитнуть
Поделиться на Facebook
Поделиться
Выложить на Reddit
Reddit.
Поделиться по электронной почте
Эл. адрес

Во вторник, февраль, в отчете о доходах 4 за 12, 2019, президент Activision Blizzard Роб Костич (Rob Kostich) сообщил, что Activision будет переходить на модель франчайзинга, основанную на городских условиях, в виде Overwatch для сцены Call of Duty Competitive Esports в следующем году и далее.

Это объявление появилось после долгих спекуляций со стороны экспертов и поклонников отрасли, что Activision в конечном итоге перейдет на франчайзинговую модель, как и многие другие популярные киберспортивные состязания. Франчайзинг представляет собой лучшее место для хранения денежной стоимости для владельцев организаций, и благодаря тому, что многие новые инвесторы и деньги прибывают в киберспорт, создание Pro League с франшизами показало себя как для обеспечения значительных вступительных взносов, так и для более стабильного спонсорства.

Самый спорная часть этого объявления является решение о создании модели франчайзинга через город. Не должно быть удивительно, что Activision внедрила бы франчайзинг таким образом, поскольку именно так была сформирована Лига Overwatch. Но Call of Duty - это не Overwatch; он был укоренен в популярной игровой культуре на протяжении более десяти лет. За это время легендарные организации в Call of Duty, такие как FaZe, OpTic и Envy и многие другие, создали базы фанатов и личностей, которые никоим образом не ограничиваются отдельными городами или местностями. Идея о том, что поклонник OpTic 10 лет внезапно станет поклонником FaZe, потому что они произвольно расположены ближе к франчайзинговому городу FaZe, нелепа.

БОЛЬШЕ ОТ ESTNN
CoD: New York Subliners подписывают контракт с Нептуном в преддверии сезона CDL 2022 года

Более того, это не значит, что Call of Duty завоевывает новых поклонников (как это сделал Overwatch, поскольку это относительно новая игра). Уже несколько лет он поддерживает свою базу поклонников, и идея разделить взаимодействие между фанатами или призывы кажется просто игнорируемой сообществом.

Это объявление оказало определенное давление на Infinity Ward для разработки популярной игры, которая будет привлекать значительные инвестиции и спонсорство, но финансовый директор Activision высоко оценил игру, заявив, что она станет «одной из лучших когда-либо созданных Call of Duty». «.

Все это указывает на захватывающий новый год для Call of Duty Esports. В то же время вы можете ознакомиться с акцией Call of Duty Pro League этого года, которая проходит прямо сейчас в Колумбусе, штат Огайо, в будние дни, начиная с 3: 00 PM EST on www.twitch.tv/callofduty или ESTNN TV.


Изображение через; KL Gadget Guy

▰ Подробнее Call of Duty Новости

▰ Последние новости киберспорта

РЕКЛАМА

Ashwin Palepu | Esports Writer

Ashwin Palepu | Esports Writer

Ashwin is an industry expert primarily focused on Call of Duty and Fortnite, but a lover of all shooters. He enjoys focusing on the business side of esports as well as team profiles and game strategy. He is an avid programmer in his spare time. Discord @tagoonsquad

Advertisement

Activison Blizzard Confirms City-Based Franchising for Call of Duty Pro League

Activision Blizzard Call of Duty
Tweet
Share
Reddit
E-Mail
Tweet
Share
Reddit

In a 4th quarter earnings call on Tuesday, February 12, 2019, Activision Blizzard’s President, Rob Kostich revealed that Activision would be moving to a city-based franchising model a la Overwatch for the Call of Duty Competitive Esports scene next year and beyond.

This announcement came after much speculation over the past couple of years from industry experts and fans that Activision would eventually move to a franchising model like many other popular esports. Franchising presents a better storage place for monetary value for organization owners, and with many new investors and money arriving in esports, establishing a Pro League with franchises has shown to secure significant buy-ins as well as more stable sponsorship.

The most controversial part of this announcement is the decision to establish the franchising model through cities. It shouldn’t be surprising that Activision would implement franchising this way as this is how the Overwatch League was formed. But Call of Duty is not Overwatch; it has been well-ingrained in popular gaming culture for over a decade. During that time, storied organizations in Call of Duty such as FaZe, OpTic, and Envy among many others have developed fan bases and personalities that are in no way limited to single cities or localities. The idea that an OpTic fan of 10 years would suddenly become a FaZe fan because they are arbitrarily located closer to FaZe’s franchise city is ludicrous.

Moreover, it’s not like Call of Duty is gaining fresh fans (like Overwatch did with it being a relatively new game). It has maintained its fan base for several years now, and the idea of sectionalizing fan engagement or appeal seems like it will just be ignored by the community.

This announcement does put some pressure on Infinity Ward to develop a popular game that will attract substantial investment and sponsorships, but Activision’s Chief Financial Officer gave the game some strong early praise, stating that it will be “one of the best Call of Duty’s ever built.”

All of this points to an exciting new year for Call of Duty Esports. In the meantime, you can check out this year’s Call of Duty Pro League action taking place right now in Columbus, Ohio on weekdays beginning at 3:00 PM EST on www.twitch.tv/callofduty or on ESTNN TV.


Image via; KL Gadget Guy

Latest Esports Articles

LCS: Week Nine Day One Recap

OpTic Gaming V Golden Guardians   Golden Guardians made history today for their organization as they punched their ticket to the playoffs. GGS has had solid early-game performances recently and continued that streak

Read More »
MAJ3R leaves ex-Space Soldiers

MAJ3R Leaves ex-Space Soliders Lineup

Engin “MAJ3R” Küpeli has announced that he is leaving the ex-Space Soldiers lineup this morning through a post on Twitter. 28-year-old in-game leader Engin “MAJ3R” Küpeli announced that he was leaving the ex-Space

Read More »

More Esports Articles