FIFA World Cup Young Player award predictions

In this article, you’ll find out more about the 2022 World Cup discoveries that we saw blossom this year.

Enzo Fernandez to win the FIFA Young Player award @-350

The 21-year-old Benfica midfielder barely qualifies for this award as he’s about to turn 22 in January so he can count himself a bit lucky here. Nevertheless, he is without a doubt one of the best players around in general. Certainly, the best of the young lads in the World Cup this year. At least judging from his performance in the World Cup, young Enzo has a bright future ahead of him and it’s no wonder why transfer rumors already started floating around regarding his future.

Yes, his goal-assist statistics aren’t exactly remarkable. He has one goal and one assist in the World Cup this year. But it’s only so many goals or assists you can make as a central midfielder when you have playmaker-in-chief Lionel Messi up front. Regardless, his goal against Poland was a state-of-the-art shot.

Josko Gvardiol to win the FIFA Young Player award @+450

When you caught the eye of Manchester City’s Josep Guardiola, you can pat yourself on the back for a job well done. Josko Gvardiol is without a doubt Croatia’s gem in the heart of the defense this year. He has been ever-present and is the key reason why Croatia performed so admirably at the back versus powerful teams like Belgium and Brazil.

Yes, the 20-year-old RB Leipzig star didn’t exactly impress against Argentina as Lionel Messi gave him a good lesson but such games are very good for young players like him as they teach a valuable lesson. To become the best, you must face the best and that’s exactly what Josko Gvardiol did in the Argentina game and he has nothing to be ashamed of. A defender hasn’t won the FIFA Young Player award in the last five editions of the World Cup so if Josko Gvardiol wants to put a dent in Enzo Fernandez’s hopes of winning the FIFA Young Player award, he has to be rock-solid versus Morocco.

World Cup Young player award 2022

A sea of talents deserving the FIFA World Cup Young Player award

If we had Josko Gvardiol and Enzo Fernandez as the only two real candidates to win the FIFA World Cup Young Player award, it would’ve been acceptable. Alas, that’s not the case. There are plenty of world-class players who deserve a lot more than an honorable mention:

  • Jude Bellingham – 19
  • Eduardo Camavinga – 20
  • William Saliba – 21
  • Gavi – 18

Yes, only one player can win the award but all of these young talents will benefit plenty. They will either receive new and better contract deals with their current teams or will be provided with alluring offers from the top teams in Europe. Manchester City, Barcelona, Liverpool, and Real Madrid already started asking about some of these exciting players.