Who will win the FIFA World Cup Golden Glove?

There are a few candidates for the Golden Glove award in the 2022 World Cup. Here’s whom we had in mind:

Emiliano Martinez to win the Golden Glove @+175

Emi Martinez is without a doubt one of the best goalkeepers in the World in general at the moment. He and Lionel Messi were the ones who dragged Argentina to a Copa America final where La Albiceleste won a long-awaited trophy.

Emiliano Martinez has been performing at his peak for Aston Villa and Argentina for a while now and it’s no wonder why he’s getting so much praise. He won the best goalkeeper award in Copa America and he’s in pole position to win the Golden Glove in Qatar as well.

It will certainly be a photo-finish call as he and Yassine Bounou have been equally good this year. Nevertheless, Emiliano Martinez has the edge as he’s the one who is going to be playing in the final.

Golden glove winner World Cup 2022

Yassine Bounou to win the Golden Glove @+185

The 31-year-old Moroccan goalkeeper defied all odds and pulled off a remarkable piece of goalkeeping in the FIFA World Cup this year. He was the main reason for Morocco’s success as his catlike reflexes saved Walid Regragui’s team on multiple occasions.

It took the remaining World Cup teams five games to even penetrate this amazing goalkeeper. The first goals that were scored against him by an opposite player were in the semi-finals! The goal that Canada scored against Morocco was the misfortunate Nayef Aguerd’s own goal.

Yassine Bounou will be the player to watch in the fight for 3rd place and we’re convinced that he has what it takes to bring home the World Cup bronze. If he’s at his lethal best and scores a clean sheet he just might be the goalkeeper to win the Golden Glove this year as well.

The 2022 Golden Glove race is action-packed

Unlike the Golden Boot or Golden Ball race, the Golden Glove one has far more players competing. We have Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe who’ll share the spoils in the other two awards but it’s still a mystery who the next Golden Glove winner will be.

Yes, Yassine Bounou and Emiliano Martinez are the prime candidates to win the award as they have been amazing this year. But Dominik Livakovic and Hugo Lloris have been just as good as well. Should France win the World Cup or Croatia grab 3rd place, perhaps one of these two will stand a chance of snatching the award from Emiliano Martinez’s or Yassine Bounou’s hands.

Whichever the next Golden Glove recipient might be, we are sure that it will be a well-deserved personal victory for him and a shame for the others as all of these fantastic players deserve more than an honorable mention for their contribution. We will find out soon enough who the next winner might be but we are certain that the experts will be just in deciding the next Colden Glove winner.