Who will win the Golden Boot in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

We have two prime candidates in mind. It’s Argentina’s Lionel Messi and the 23-year-old French superstar, Kylian Mbappe. Coincidentally, these two are also the top competitors for the FIFA Wold Cup 2022 Golden Ball award.

Lionel Messi to win the Golden Boot @ -166

La Pulga has been sensational this season for both PSG and Argentina. He had a difficult 2021/22 season with his club as he needed some time to adjust to his new surroundings. But since the start of the new campaign, we’ve seen nothing but the very best from Lionel Messi.

With playmaker-in-chief Lionel Messi, Lionel Scaloni’s job seems to be quite easy. The 35-year-old superstar has been giving his best for his country during the World Cup so far. He bagged five goals and provided teammates with two assists. Yes, most of his goals were the result of penalties but this doesn’t take away anything from the vicious form he’s currently in.

He and Kylian Mbappe are in a gladiator fight for the Golden Boot. Both of them have scored five goals but if neither one of them has a goal contribution in the final match at Lusail, it’s Lionel Messi who’ll win it as he has more assists.

Golden Boot world cup 2022

Kylian Mbappe to win the Golden Boot @ +130

It will be a difficult task for Kylian Mbappe to put his hands on the Golden Boot this year. It’s true, he’s probably the best striker in the World Cup but he was unfortunate to get nullified in two games so far. He wasn’t that effective against England and he was nowhere to be seen versus Morocco. He was on the bench for the Tunisia match in the group stage as well.

All of those factors played a role in Lionel Messi’s pole position to win the Golden Boot. Now, the final is going to be played at Lusail and we have the two PSG teammates going up against each other. It’s not just who’s the best player but which team is better. And there isn’t a single team this year that outplayed Argentina.

The FIFA World Cup Golden Boot race intensifies

Since the Golden Boot award was created back in 2010, we’ve seen three Golden Boot recipients:

  • 2018 – Harry Kane with six goals
  • 2014 – James Rodriguez with five goals
  • 2010 – Thomas Muller with five goals

The race for the Golden Boot is always a nail-biting event up to the very last moment as it’s difficult for any player to get ahead of the rest. Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi are the top favorites to win the Golden Boot this year but they are both tied for 1st place at the moment with Lionel Messi in pole position to grab this prestigious award. Here are the tie-breakers that will decide the next winner:

  • The player with the most goals wins.
  • If there’s a tie for 1st place, the player with the most assists wins.
  • If there’s still a tie for 1st place, the player with the least number of minutes wins.

As we said, Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi are leading the race but they should be very careful as Julian Alvarez and Olivier Giroud are right behind them. The two players scored four goals each and a solid performance at Lusail might just be enough for us to see a surprising winner.